Back in the kitchen

It’s been four months since my last post and to be honest there was a moment when I wasn’t sure if I was going to return to the blog at all.

I spent the months of January-February living in Valparaiso, Chile where I enjoyed empanadas, alfajores and delicious locally baked bread. But unfortunately I had an ill-equipped kitchen so I couldn’t recreate any of these treats at home.

I then lived in Bariloche in Argentine Patagonia for the months of March-April and started studying – Spanish at the wonderful La Montana and also chocolate making through Ecole Chocolate.

My kitchen was better, but still not brilliant although was the perfect setting within which to learn how to temper chocolate and start creating my own bonbons and confectioneries.

Now, I’m living in Buenos Aires  and will be here for the next couple of months. As  soon as  I walked into the kitchen, I knew I was going to start baking again and realised just  how much I’d missed  it.

I’m keen to catch up on some of the South American specialties I’ve been sampling and also share my learnings and experiences from my ongoing chocolate education.

It’s so good to be back  in the kitchen 🙂

Leave a Reply

