White chocolate mousse FAIL

White chocolate mousse
White chocolate mousse

I always promised to publish my failures as well as my triumphs and this one certainly falls into the former category.

The good thing is that I totally know where I went wrong, so at least can learn from my mistake.

Basically, I set out to make a white chocolate mousse based on Michel Roux’s recipe – his included kaffir lime, but I wanted to keep mine simple because I was dressing it with mini chocolate eggs as an Easter treat.

So, I started off and until the final moment everything was looking good.

I had my chocolate melted, my gelatine melted in hot milk, my eggs yolks mixed with liquid glucose and my cream whipped to ribbon stage.

So, one by one I added the ingredients until I got to the whipped cream where I wavered.

Surely you shouldn’t add whipped cream to a warm chocolate, egg and milk mix? Wouldn’t it melt the cream?

But I decided to ignore my gut and crack on as the recipe suggested – and of course, I watched as my whipped cream melted and the whole mixture ended up in a liquid form.

I poured it into serving glasses (where I barely got 3 portions as opposed to the suggested 4-6) and refrigerated for an hour.

I wanted to try to salvage one, so poured it onto a bowl and whipped it – unfortunately, it split the mousse so that obviously didn’t work.

They still tasted great, but were definitely more “pots de crème” than light and airy mousses.

The ironic thing is that I’m planning to make milk chocolate pots de crème in a couple of weeks!

White chocolate mousse

150g white chocolate (I used Lindt)
½ sheet leaf gelatine
50ml
1 ½ tsp liquid glucose
2 egg yolks
150ml whipping cream
30g icing sugar

Melt the chocolate in a bowl set over a saucepan of boiling water. Ensure the water doesn’t touch the base of the bowl.

Soak the gelatine in a shallow dish of water to soften for about 5 minutes.

Bring the milk to the boil in a small saucepan, then take off the heat. Drain the gelatine, squeezing out any excess water, then add to the milk.

In a separate bowl, mix the glucose, 1 tsp warm water and egg yolks together.

In yet another bowl, whip together the cream and sugar to a ribbon consistency.

Pour the milk over the melted chocolate and mix with a balloon whisk until smooth. Gently fold in the egg yolk mixture. Finally, using the spatula, carefully fold in the whipped cream.

Pour into 4-6 cups or little dishes, depending on size. Refrigerate for at least an hour.

Note – as I learned, wait until the mix is completed cold before folding in the whipped cream!

Leave a Reply

