Cornbread with honey butter

Cornbread with honey butter
Cornbread with honey butter

Cornbread has never been a big thing in Australia, but I’m pleased to say that since we’ve had a surge of southern style restaurants open it’s often on the menu alongside grits and jalapeño poppers. (I’m yet to see a hush puppy but waiting with baited breath!)

I had the pleasure of trying a fair few traditional ones while travelling in the states a few years ago and loved the different flavours used – cheddar and jalapeño, cheddar and chilli, bacon and onion, etc.

I’m not going to pretend I’m an expert and I’m sure my American readers will be able to contribute a lot more to the conversation than me.

But from my research I saw a lot of debate around the ratio of plain flour to cornflour, whether to use buttermilk or whole milk, whether to include sugar or not.

The one thing everyone seemed to agree on is that fact that it should be baked in a hot skillet to get the best crust. I don’t have an oven-proof skillet so used a traditional round cake tin which worked fine.

I should also say now that cornflour is not the same in Australia as the US – cornflour to us is corn starch, so from my readings it’s recommended we use polenta instead.

I want to do a savoury flavoured loaf next week so stuck with the plain cornbread recipe this time and whipped up a quick honey butter to slather on top of it.

Delish!!

PS – I’ve just started a Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/projectpastryblog) for Project Pastry where I’ll be sharing all of my posts and also some other fun, baking ideas and stories. Please come and join me 🙂

Cornbread

140g flour
150g polenta
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 cup milk
2 eggs
120g butter

Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl and give them a quick stir with a balloon whisk.

Break up the eggs in another bowl and add the milk and butter.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry, then stir until just combined.

Baked at 190C for 20-25 minutes.

One thought on “Cornbread with honey butter

  1. Even Americans can’t agree on cornbread! It’s a matter of taste and what you grew up with. Some like it sweet, some don’t. Cast iron is definitely the traditional method for baking, though there are plenty of other methods such as a cake pan like you used. Your cornbread looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

