New year, new goals

Happy New Year to everyone – I hope you had a wonderful break with your friends and family.

I’ve enjoyed a week at the Sunshine Coast with my husband, sister-in-law and brother-in-law and now very keen to get back into the kitchen again.

I’m not one for new years’ resolutions, but am going to try to focus a bit more on the blog this year. I’ve realised how much there is to cover and how little I’m scratching the surface with my weekly bakes.

I’m also really conscious of not moving on too quickly and forgetting everything I’ve learned – for example, it was this time last year that I was making layer cakes so need to continue developing my icing and decorating techniques while continuing with my curriculum.

So, to do a quick re-cap of the last six months I’ve achieved a major milestone with viennoiserie which was as challenging as I’d always expected it to be. Frozen desserts were also a big hurdle for me but I feel really confident making sorbets and ice creams now which is a great feeling. Lastly, confectionery was great fun and I now regularly making brittles, honeycomb and marshmallows which never fail to impress.

In fact, on Christmas Day (which I hosted for the first time) I made a ruby grapefruit sorbet as a palate cleanser, and honeycomb and chocolate truffles as after-dinner treats. None of these would have been on my radar if it hadn’t been for Project Pastry.

So what’s next on the list?

  • Quick breads
  • Chocolate work (probably need to wait until the temperature cools a bit)
  • Verrines
  • Plated desserts
  • Bread (which keeps being pushed down the bottom of the list)

My darling husband also bought me a “Mighty Macaron” cooking class voucher for Christmas so by February I’ll hopefully have conquered that demon!

I’m also going to try a second bake each week (or maybe fortnight if I’m realistic) called Flashback Friday which will go over things I’ve learned in the past e.g. pastry doughs, cremes, cakes, cookies, etc.

After 18 months on this blog, I’m still as excited as ever about what I’m learning and what’s coming out of my kitchen.

Thanks again for joining me on this journey and please feel free to drop me a line any time with questions, recipe requests or feedback on my efforts. As I’ve always said, this is a massive learning curve and I’m always keen to receive tips or advice 🙂

One thought on “New year, new goals

  1. I can’t wait to see what goodies you come up with this year! Quick breads are definitely one of our favorites. Love bread too, that is something I am working on as well.

Leave a Reply

