Festive ginger biscuits

Festive ginger biscuits
Festive ginger biscuits

Amongst moving house and fighting with the gas company to get connected, I haven’t had much chance to do my usual Christmas baking.

But when my hubby asked for something to take in to his work colleagues, I couldn’t resist throwing together these biscuits.

I’ll admit upfront that my piping technique is a work in progress so these aren’t as neat as I would have liked. I stole the idea from Jocelyn’s Provisions (https://www.facebook.com/jocelynsprovisions) whose look a hell of a lot more crisp and clean than mine!

Anyway, Merry Christmas to everyone and I hope you have a safe and happy break. And thank you for following me on my baking journey this year – I reached 100 followers this week which may not sound like a lot to some, but means so much to me 🙂

Festive ginger biscuits
Festive ginger biscuits

Festive ginger biscuits

125g butter, softened

2 1/2 cups plain flour
1/2 cup caster sugar
1/4 cup molasses
1/4 cup golden syrup
1 egg yolk
1.5 tsp ginger powder
1 tsp cinnamon powder

Preheat the oven to 180C and line two baking trays with paper.

Cream together the butter and sugar until pale and creamy then add the molasses and golden syrup.

Add the egg yolk and mix well, then fold in the flour, ginger and cinnamon.

Wrap in cling film and return to the fridge for 1 hour to let the butter harden.

Roll out on a lightly floured surface and use biscuit cutters to make your favourite shapes.

Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden. Allow to cool, then top with royal icing.

Royal icing – whisk together 1 egg white, 1.5 cups icing sugar and 1/2 tsp lemon.

2 thoughts on “Festive ginger biscuits

Leave a Reply

