Introduction to viennoiserie

Technically I’ve spent the past two weekends away in Tasmania on holidays which explains my lack of posts.

But you could say that I’ve actually been cowering in a corner dreading this next part of my curriculum – viennoiserie.

I’ve realised I can’t go much further with confectionery without investing in a fair bit of kit like moulds, etc. plus it’s now 25C in Brisbane and my pastry dough window is rapidly closing.

Viennoiserie originated in Vienna and is a type of bread that was originally made exclusively for the monarchy – think Marie-Antoinette who brought croissants from Vienna to France.

Michel Suas describes it as the meeting place between pastry and bread, usually referring to yeast-raised products that are sweetened with sugar and enriched with butter and eggs.

There are two main classes of viennoiserie:

  • Laminated dough
  • Non-laminated dough

Lamination involves creating layer upon layer of dough and butter which results in a light, crisp pastry. Think croissants, danishes and pain au chocolat.

Examples of non-laminated doughs  include brioche, cinnamon rolls and Gibassier.

There’s a whole load of theory sitting behind viennoiserie that I’m going to have to get my head around including folding, fermenting, proofing, shaping and that’s before I attempt to make them look good.

Wish me luck for the coming weeks!!

2 thoughts on “Introduction to viennoiserie

Leave a Reply

