Project Pastry – one year in

Just over a year ago, on 21st July 2013, I sat down to write my first Project Pastry blog post.

It was a time when I was having a bit of a crossroads in my career, and unsure whether I wanted to throw it all in a re-train as a pastry chef.

Being the geeky, practical person that I am I decided to first start teaching myself techniques and recipes based on my pastry idols’ books.

A year on, I’m no way near as far along as I’d expected but I’ve loved every minute.

Over the past twelve months, I’ve learned:

  • Pastry doughs
  • Pastry creams
  • Cakes
  • Biscuits/cookies
  • Mousses
  • Meringues

I’ve had some total failures (macarons are still my enemy and my genoise sponge still needs some work) but some total triumphs that have taken me by surprise.

Gateaux St Honoré  was my pastry pinnacle and my flourless chocolate hazelnut cake is probably my favourite of all (although my Dad – and one of my hardest critics – would say the chocolate mousse layer cake from last weekend tops the list).

So where to next? I still feel like I’m only scratching the surface of pastry and baking and now need to tackle:

  • Viennoiserie (and I’d better get onto this quick before it gets too hot)
  • Chocolate work
  • Confectionary
  • Frozen desserts
  • Decoration
  • And finally – bread!!!

That is certainly going to keep me busy for the next 12 months.

I’m not going to quit my day job any time soon. I’m realising that your hobby doesn’t necessarily need to become your vocation and for the time being I’m enjoying this balance.

Maybe someday I’ll start selling some of my products, but I think they all need a bit more perfecting first.

Thanks so much to everyone who has come along on this journey with me – especially those who have helped with tips, advice and support along the way. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Project Pastry – one year in

  1. I have loved reading your blog as each new installment pops into my IN box. Keep the dream alive girl – and… happy anniversary !

Leave a Reply

