Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting

Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting
Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting

So my last post about mayo cakes was a bit random, so I wanted to go a bit more classic with an oil-based cake.

Oil is often used rather than butter in fruit cakes because it manages to keep the cakes moist and light. It also has a longer shelf life so is great for cakes that develop their flavour over time.

And you won’t miss the butter flavour amongst all of the other rich ingredients.

Since carrot cakes are quintessentially American, I went straight to recipes from bakeries like Hummingbird and Magnolia for inspiration as well as Paula Dean and Martha Stewart.

All recipes were pretty similar with a few tweaks on spicing (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, mixed spice), fruits (raisins, crushed pineapple) and sugar (caster, light brown).

I ended up taking a bit from each recipe to cobble together this creation. It was incredibly moist and flavourful so I’ll definitely be trying it again.

The use of pineapple was a personal choice because I’m not a big fan of raisins in cakes, but I think it added a really nice zingy note.

It made quite a large batch and I managed to get a loaf and two round cakes out of it which is a bit greedy!

The icing was a basic cream cheese frosting with a bit of orange zest.

That’s it for fat-based cakes – next step is foam-based!

Carrot cake

300g caster sugar
300g plain flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 ½  tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp ground ginger
½ tsp salt
3 eggs
300ml canola oil
½  tsp vanilla extract
300g carrots , grated (roughly 2 large or 3 small carrots)
1 cup tinned crushed pineapple
100g shelled pecans , chopped

Pre-heat the oven to 170 degrees.

Whisk together the sugar, oil and eggs then set aside. In a separate bowl, sift together the dry ingredients.

Slowly stir the dry ingredients into the batter and stir together with a wooden spoon. Add the vanilla extract.

Lastly, mix in the carrots, pineapple and pecans so that they are evenly distributed.

Pour mixture into prepared tins (I made 2 x round cakes and 1 x loaf) and bake for 25 minutes (cakes) and 40 minutes (loaf).

Cream cheese frosting

Mix 1 250g packet of cream cheese, 3 cups of icing sugar and zest of 1 orange together until smooth.

2 thoughts on “Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting

  1. Thank you for explaining the oil vs butter ‘Project Pastry’, I always wanted to know! My recipe also has pineapple and results in a beautiful most fruity flavour. I will be sure to try your recipe next time! I look forward to your next post, I have only ever attempted a sponge once as have always been too scared my Nana would put me to shame with her ‘sponge expertise’!

Leave a Reply

