Chocolate mayo cake

Chocolate mayo cake
Chocolate mayo cake

When I was researching options for different fat-based cakes, I came across the obvious oil and butter options (oil recipe coming next week).

But I also came across another type that caught my eye – mayonnaise-based cakes.

It seems a bit odd, but when you think about it mayonnaise is basically oil, egg and vinegar. These ingredients listed our separately are more than home in a good cake recipe.

Most of the mayo cakes I found were chocolate cakes and they promised to be moist and delicious. So, I decided to give it a go!

I played around with a few recipes and came up with the ingredient list below. I added a cup of espresso rather than water used in some recipes, and ensured that I used both baking powder and baking soda to offset the acid.

Lastly, I added some salt to enhance the flavour of the cocoa.

The cake was incredibly moist, but I must admit that I did miss the buttery flavour and found there to be a slight aftertaste.

Still, it was an interesting experiment and might just be my opinion so think itโ€™s worth a test yourself.

Chocolate mayo cake

1 cup espresso, cooled
1 cup whole egg mayonnaise
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups flour
1 cup caster sugar
3 tbsp good quality cocoa
1 tsp baking powder
ยผ tsp baking soda

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees.

Sift all dry ingredients together in a bowl.

In a different bowl, whisk together all of the wet ingredients.

Combine the mixtures and stir together until smooth.

Pour into two lined cake pans and bake for approximately 18 minutes.

Fudge buttercream icing

180g dark chocolate, melted
250g butter, at room temperature
275g icing sugar, sifted

Beat the butter until it is creamy and add the icing sugar. Add the chocolate.

7 thoughts on “Chocolate mayo cake

    1. Hi Andrea, whole egg mayo is just the full fat version that is generally richer and creamier. I couldn’t taste the mayo itself in the cake but did miss the butter – easily solved by covering it in buttercream icing! I served it up to my family and they loved it. Will be interested to see what you think ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

