Ganache

Chocolate ganache truffles
Chocolate ganache truffles

So I had a brilliant plan to show off my latest pastry filling, ganache, inside raspberry macaroons.

I don’t know why I thought macaroons would be so easy to make – must have something to do with the number of baking shows I’m watching on TV at the moment – but suffice to say, they turned out a mess.

I’ll spare you the details for now, but be warned this will be a future post when I get onto biscuits.

With my ganache made and chilling in the fridge, I decided to keep things simple and make truffles. Surely I couldn’t mess them up??

Ganache is an incredibly useful and simple recipe that can be tailored for purpose – whether it be for truffles, as a filling, or as a glaze.

One of my favourite ever recipes is Michel Roux’s Chocolate Raspberry Tart made with shortcrust pastry, a layer of raspberries then smothered with chocolate ganache – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kx7mhx_VvWM

Traditionally it is made using one part chocolate to one part cream, with butter added for glossiness and extra flavour. Egg yolks are sometimes added for richness, or alcohol such as brandy or fruit liqueurs.

Ganache recipe

200ml heavy cream
200g good quality chocolate (at least 70% cocoa solids)
Small knob butter

Heat the cream in a pan until hot but not boiling.

Chop the chocolate up finely and place into a heatproof bowl.

Pour the cream over the top and stir until incorporated.

Add the butter and mix through until melted.

To make truffles, add a splash of liqueur in with the butter and refrigerate until set. Use a spoon to scoop out bite-size pieces and roll the mixture into balls using the palms of your hands. Coat in cocoa powder or crushed nuts.

7 thoughts on “Ganache

    1. Thanks so much for your kind words! I got a bit impatient and think I didn’t leave them long enough to develop legs before baking – they totally bled out! Will check out your tips before trying again 🙂

      1. If you touch the top they shouldn’t be sticky any more – that’s when they are ready to bake. I came to the conclusion that mine bled out because the oven wasn’t hot enough but interested to hear what you think when you redo yours!

Leave a Reply

